Geoff's Designations


All real estate licensees are not the same. Only real estate licensees who are members of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® are properly called REALTORS®. They proudly display the REALTOR "®" logo on the business card or other marketing and sales literature. REALTORS® are committed to treat all parties to a transaction honestly. REALTORS® subscribe to a strict code of ethics and are expected to maintain a higher level of knowledge of the process of buying and selling real estate.

“Broker” Associate

In the State of California, the vast majority of real estate salespeople hold a “Real Estate Salesperson” license.  In order to obtain a “Real Estate Broker” license, an applicant must meet all requirements of the Salesperson’s license, and additionally, must qualify by either having two years of full-time real estate experience, or by holding 4-year college degree.  They must also have completed a more extensive curriculum of real estate related courses, and pass a more rigorous state exam. While a Real Estate Broker is qualified to oversee the operations of an entire office (whereby a Real Estate Salesperson is not), the term “Broker Associate” refers to a licensed Broker who works as a Salesperson. 

“CRS” – Council of Residential Specialists

The Certified Residential Specialist (CRS) is the highest Designation awarded to the Top 4% of sales associates in the residential sales field. The CRS Designation recognizes professional accomplishments in both experience and education.  Since 1977 the Council of Residential Specialists has been conferring the CRS Designation on agents who meet its stringent requirements.

“GRI” - Graduate, REALTOR® Institute

The Graduate REALTOR® Institute (GRI) symbol is the mark of a real estate professional who has made the commitment to provide a high level of professional services by securing a strong educational foundation. REALTORS® with the GRI designation are highly trained in many areas of real estate to better serve and protect their clients.  (Over 90 hours of training over a span of 12+ months beyond license requirement).

"GREEN Certified" - National Association of Realtors

  Green Designation is the only NAR conferred real estate designation designed for agents looking to         learn about the issues of energy efficieny and sustainaiblity in the various facets of real estate. As      consumer demand for for knowledge on these issues increases, so will your awareness of green issues. 


ABR” - Accredited Buyer Representative

The Accredited Buyer Representative (ABR®) designation is the benchmark of excellence in buyer representation. This coveted designation is awarded to real estate practitioners by the Real Estate BUYER'S AGENT Council (REBAC) of the National Association of REALTORS® who meet the specified educational and practical experience criteria.


An e-PRO is a REALTOR® who has successfully completed the e-PRO training program for real estate professionals. Endorsed by the National Association of REALTORS®, the e-PRO course teaches professionals the nuts and bolts of working with real estate on-line: Web sites, e-mail, on-line tools, and most of all, what today's consumer really wants.

SFR” – Short Sale and Foreclosure Resource

Short Sales and Foreclosure Resource certification, or SFR®, gives you a framework for understanding how to: Direct distressed sellers to finance, tax, and legal professionals, Qualify sellers for short sales, Develop a short-sale package, Negotiate with lenders, Tap into buyer demand, Safeguard your commission, Limit risk, Protect buyers

“SRES” - Seniors Real Estate Specialist

Seniors Real Estate Specialists® are REALTORS® qualified to address the needs of home buyers age 55-plus. The SRES® Council awards the SRES® Designation to those members who have successfully completed its education program.

“SRS” - Seller Representative Specialist

The Seller Representative Specialist (SRS) designation is the premier credential in seller representation.  It is designed to elevate professional standards and enhance personal performance.  The designation is awarded to real estate practitioners by the Council of Real Estate Brokerage Managers (CRB) who meet specific educational and practical experience criteria.


Geoff Hamill
Geoff Hamill